Thankful Dictators

We live in a demanding world. It seems as though everything (and everyone) has a right to our time and possessions. For example, today I had a demand made of me. By a red-haired munchkin. With big, brown eyes. And an iron will.

Small thuds could be heard on the stairs. Soon, a moppet head marched into view, and then…the rest of her. We’re talking military bearing, the works. Em looked up at me, towering over her, and spoke. “I want you ipad.”

“I doesn’t know where my ipad iz. Does you know where?” (When dealing with the Lady of the Realm, it is best to converse in her native dialect).

She nodded once. Regally. “It iz downstairs.”

I stared at her in bemusement. “Then why you comes up here?”

Pondering this for a moment, she then manufactured a charming smile, showing tiny, white teeth and almost dimples. “Because I wanted YOU!!” She flashed another smile, calm in the knowledge of an excellent hair day and a pushover elder sister. Holding up both arms, she said imploringly, “You come wis me? And carry me?”

“Otay.” I heaved a sigh, picked her up, and started down the stairs. As Lady of the Realm, Em enjoys many privileges – one of them being the ability to change her mind at a speed Dori would envy.

“Wait,” she said abruptly. “Me wants a dess.”

I stared at her in silence. “I fought you wanted da ipad.”

She scowled, then thought better of it, and smiled sweetly. “No. Me wants a dess now.” (Apparently one has to be well-dressed to watch Barney. Wild, zebra-print pajamas no longer cut it in this progressive society).

I turned on the puppy dog eyes – something brown eyes are decent for – and whimpered, “Can I has lunch first? I iz soo hungry…” To sweeten the deal, I wheedled, “I make Ems some too!”

No!” she proclaimed sternly. “You not have lunch. I not hungry!”

I sighed again, something I do often around Ems, turned around, and started back up the stairs. Moments later, adorned in a beautiful dress, ipad in hand, Ems sat resplendent and enjoyed a brief repast. (I was later allowed some scraps). I stared down at her in slight chagrin. Then she winked at me cheekily (my tutelege – she is amazing at it), raised her thumb, and grinned – the saucy, lil’ minx. I went away, well-paid.

I wonder…okay, I know that this is sometimes how I treat God. He is good, and kind, and so long-suffering. (Not that I am those things. But it makes for a good analogy, because Em plays the role of dictator so well). It’s easy to take Him for granted, demanding things as fast as I can think of them. Then, when the list is finally over, I wink, raise my thumb, and grin, “Okay, God. Now you take care of it.”

I desire more than a give-and-take relation with Him. Honestly, I don’t think that fulfills His purpose for my life, any more than it fulfills me. Something along those lines has been floating around the FB community recently. “What if the only things you thanked God for yesterday, are the things you have today?”

Um. I remember thinking that I really like the music I’m listening to. Does that count? Oh, and that I like hanging out with my family. And Swedish Fish might have taken up a brief millisecond.

So, I’d end up with music, family, and Swedish Fish…which actually could have possibilities. 😉 But in all seriousness, I know my life would be so much emptier if I only had those things that I thanked and praised God for. Something I’ll def. be thinking about this week.

Now to indoctrine yon, young Lady of the Realm.

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

