The Belle of Books

As a child, I was insanely jealous of Belle’s library. (I was jealous of Belle in general, but mostly because of the library). I didn’t think it was courageous at all of her to defy the Beast and take the place of her ailing father – because I knew that somehow, somewhere she had already learned about the library. It was not an act of bravery to stay – it was the act of a crazed, book addict. True story.

Perhaps then, it will not be a shock to you that Belle has been, is, and always will be my favorite Disney princess. How can you not love a girl who literally dances her way down the street, her pert nose buried in a book, completely oblivious to the mundane happenings about her? And singing the entire time.

I also loved Belle because she was an avid re-reader of books. When this little spitfire found a book she liked, that bad puppy was going to be read. And read. And read. And possibly re-read. I love that. I have long been a believer of revisiting favorite places, beloved characters, and intriguing plots. In fact, I think that’s the true measure of a brilliant book – the number of times its been re-read.

So, enough of my babbling. Enlighten me…what’s your favorite read? What’s the book you cannot keep from visiting time and time again? (This may sound as though I’m trying to make these conversations less one-sided, which sounds nice, but this is actually a thinly-veiled plot to grow my already monstrous to-be-read list. I mean…it’s your turn to talk. Friend). 😉

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Books, Humor, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Belle of Books

  1. nate65 says:

    I can relate to you on this (not the Disney Princess thing, the re-read thing :D). My favorite re-read is A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. Never ceases to encapsulate me in the characters and plot. 🙂

    • Haha – I find that many guys cannot relate to Disney Princess (much to their credit). 😉 Ah, I remember starting out on that book with high hopes as a ten year old. I did not get very far. It is far past due to try it again though! Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

  2. hakesplace says:

    Reblogged this on Welcome to Hakes' Virtual Cafe and commented:
    True…lol! I wanted this soooo bad I tried to make my place look the same, but I failed miserably since I live in a Hobbit’s Hut! 😉

  3. Oh, there’s a lot! Pippi Longstocking 😀 Everything Shakespeare, especially Othello, all fairytales, Harry Potter, The Hobbit…. yeah, you know… a lot 🙂

    • I LOVE Pippi Longstocking! My family used to worry for my sanity as I’d burrow myself somewhere, then burst out cackling at irregular intervals as I read her books. However, I did enjoy myself. 🙂 The rest are amazing choices as well! Shakespeare has such unique insights into human life and emotion, Harry Potter is brilliant, and the Hobbit…Tolkien was a genius. Very jealous of that man’s talent. Very.

  4. supashmo says:

    The ones I keep reading are the Harry Potter series, anything by Frank Peretti (Christian supernatural/fantasy author) and World War Z.

    • Awesome. 🙂 I love all of these! Rowling is one of the best I’ve ever seen at creating an absolutely air-tight plot, with sooo many twists and turns. The sub-plot with Snape? Sheer genius. Frank Peretti is great as well! I read “The House”, a book I think he co-authored with Ted Dekker, and at the age of 14, I was scared spitless! Very dramatic talent he has there. Never read World War Z, but now I’m excited to look it up. Thank you! 😀

      • supashmo says:

        Rowling is awesome for the creation of a rich world, too. Yeah, House is awesome, and the movie version actually is pretty decent! World War Z is a freakishly realistic “documentary” of a zombie apocalypse. Enjoy!

  5. Sarah Me says:

    I am not sure that it is possible for me to pick just one……..perhaps Ishmael by E.D.E.N. Southworth……or At the Back of the North Wind by George MacDonald……or Persuasion by Jane Austen……I honestly could go on for hours….. 🙂

    • I got excited reading your comment. 😀 I’ve never read the first two, but am so glad you mentioned them! They shall be added to “The List” forthwith. And Jane Austen…good old Jane. I think my favorite of her’s is Pride and Prejudice, just because I love the barbed wit of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy. Persuasion is another good one though! 🙂

  6. I have nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award. You can chose whether you’d like to participate or not.
    If you chose to participate, these are the rules:
    The rules are simple:
    1. Thank the one who nominated you.
    2. Attach the award to your site.
    3. List 7 random things about yourself
    4. Nominate 15 other bloggers
    If you wanna see an example (how I did it): http://whatdisneymoviesteachus.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/nomination/

  7. Pingback: The Belle of Books | Kincavel Korner

Leave a Reply

