I thought Lord of the Rings was EVIL

When my male cousins first dragged me and brothers to their room to watch this “amazingly cool movie”, I have to admit it – I was skeptical. Very.

I had read one of the books and, while I was impressed, I knew next to nothing about the rest of the series. And honestly? Lord of the Rings? That sounds Satanic. There’s only one God. And as far as I know, jewelry is not something He concerns Himself with.

For another thing…if my cousins liked it? Scary. They are invigorated, not horrified, by gore. I, on the other hand, like the Sound of Music, probably for the exact same reason my cousins hate it – no gore. None. Throw a whole platoon of soldiers in there, make them chase after the Von Trapps, and not even so much as a nose bleed? Masterful. Throw a gun into the mix, add a shaking Rolf, and a calm, cool, and collected Captain Von Trapp? Nope. Still nothin’.

Just as movies should be. (Although, to be perfectly honest, some fight scenes are…cool. Don’t hate me, ladies. I have three brothers.)

But, back to Lord of the Rings – I was…impressed. Very. With intricate plots, rich characters, and vast landscaping, these movies could have been horrific in the wrong hands. Instead, even the purists have to grudgingly admit that they are okay. (The rest of us leap around the room shouting, “Yes! Yes!”).

I was most struck by the loving care devoted to showing the close relationships so many of the characters shared. For one…I love Sam. He’s solid. Ever encouraging. And loyal to the death. He literally saves Frodo’s life, his sanity, and his reason for living. And he has the most amazing quotes.

“It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo, the ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were, and sometimes you didn’t want to know the end because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end it’s only a passing thing this shadow, even darkness must pass. A new day will come, and when the sun shines it’ll shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you, that meant something even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand, I know now folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going because they were holding on to something.”

The other characters are amazingly cool as well. There’s Gimli, who’s so macho he’s almost weirdly cool, and Aragorn, who’s so cool it’s cliche.

But for the cool of the cool – pick an elf. Every time. Legolas is the epitome of cool.

Nuf’ said. So tell me, who’s your favorite Lord of the Rings character? And why??

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Humor, Movie, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I thought Lord of the Rings was EVIL

  1. supashmo says:

    I’d agree with Sam, and I have to remember his quote there for writing purposes. Sometimes, the best stories are those that are so dark, you can’t see it ever ending well, but when they do, they shine all the brighter. I also love Gimli becasue John Rhys Davies is an awesome man with an awesome voice.

  2. 93luthien says:

    The Lord of the Rings is the best movie ever. EVER. None, (either book or movie) in my most humble opinion, surpass it. I read the Hobbit/The Lord of the Rings when I was eight – right before the first movie came out, and then went to see it with my Dad. The impact it had on me then was fairly monumental, and my respect for Tolkien, his works, his sentiments and his characters have only grown since that time. All my poetry, writing, my love of words, basically everything about me is influenced heavily by Tolkienesque themes. I could hardly pick a favourite character, but I do love Eowyn, Eomer, and Faramir. They’re so wonderful xD

Leave a Reply

