Writing Under the Influence…of Mountain Dew.

This is me at the beginning of my end-of-an-eight-week-course-paper-that-should-sum-up-every-single-miniscule-detail-I’ve-learned-over-the-past-20-years-of-my-life.

Life was good. Words were flowing, eloquently and freely. Then I hit page eight. And life as I knew it ceased to exist. Writer’s block set in with all the fury of an enraged woman who hadn’t consumed Mountain Dew in a week. And two days.

Seventeen pages later, I looked a lot like this…

Except, my hair didn’t look that good. And there was a bite mark out of my keyboard. I learned much from this experience; however, probably not quite the things the instructors hoped. I learned…

  1. That adjectives, wisely placed, can raise your word count. A lot.
  2. Caffeine makes my writing sound much more…sprightly. And raises the exclamation count.
  3. That an ode should be written to Mountain Dew.
  4. That 17 pages, heavily peppered with rich adjectives or no, should never be written about any human being. Excepting the inventor of Mountain Dew. Who can write it hisself.
  5. That THE END of any paper is a masterpiece in itself.

The End

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

