Wanted: Your Bookish Expertise

I have been notified, by my mother, that I have a birthday coming up. I have further been informed that I have given her nothing to work with in the way of birthday wishes – therefore, she is falling back on my old, favorite standbys…books. And furthermore, if I don’t get my little keister in gear, books will be ordered – but who knows what type.

This situation is desparate. (My mom knows my horrible procrastination skills and has chosen a most effective way to jump-start me.) Therefore! I am begging all of you book addicts…name an author that is a must-read, or a specific genre – actually, name whatever you want. Anything is better than the alternative. πŸ˜‰

  1. Love mysteries
  2. Like some sci-fi
  3. Like reading about writing
  4. Likes some romance, but kept down to bare-bones (adventure w/romance…there ya go).
  5. Love anything C.S. Lewis
  6. Love books in general, actually. πŸ˜‰

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these β€œabout you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Books, Humor, Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wanted: Your Bookish Expertise

  1. Meredith :) says:

    The Mysterious Benedict Society books by Trenton Lee Stewart. Possibly a little below your normal level and you may have already read them…but I recommend them nonetheless. πŸ˜‰

  2. Larkleaf says:

    G.K. Chesterton’s The Man Who Was Thursday. C.S. Lewis’ Til We Have Faces. Dorothy Sayer’s Clouds of Witness. The Dream Thief by Stephen Lawhead (Sci-Fi). Have you read anything by him? Hood, Scarlet and Tuck are also good, and the Bright Empires series. All very different genres.

  3. The Road by Cormac McCarthy – my favorite novel. It’s dark and unsettling, but it’s one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. And the prose… well, let’s just say it’s amazing. I’ve never encountered another author who can write like McCarthy.

    Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – dystopian sci-fi where fireman start fires instead of putting them out. And guess what they usually burn? Books. Because books are illegal.

    Three Men in a Boat (To Say Nothing of the Dog) by Jerome K. Jerome – one of the funniest books ever written. If you need a laugh, you should pick this one up.

    Ten Ways to Destroy the Imagination of Your Child by Anthony Esolen – Thought-provoking. Funny. Disturbing. If you enjoyed Lewis’ The Screwtape Letters, you’ll enjoy this on, too.

    I’ve reviewed all the above-mentioned books, by the way. You can search for them on my blog if you’re interested in reading my full and “uncensored” thoughts. πŸ˜‰

    • Nice! My book-loving soul literally just leapt in the air and clapped her hands – thank you! I will most definitely check out your blog for the reviews…although they already sound amazing. And I adored Screwtape Letters, especially the tongue-in-cheek style – so excited to check all of these out! πŸ™‚

  4. Anna says:

    I would recommend the Scarlet Pimpernel Series. I believe you’ve read the “Scarlet Pimpernel,” but the other books are also quite good. “The Elusive Pimpernel,” “El Dorado,” “Lord Tony’s Wife,” “I Will Repay,” “The Triumph of the Scarlet Pimpernel” are quite interesting, and “The League of the Scarlet Pimpernel” is a collection of short stories.

    I recently read “Pollyanna Grows Up” and I actually liked it! (Which is surprising since I didn’t much care for “Pollyanna”)

    That’s all I can think of right now. Hope that helped! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I didn’t know there was that many – excited now. πŸ™‚ And Pollyanna grows up…sweetness! I am actually interested to see what type of woman she morphed into (especially, since I agree with you – she was loveable, but almost too much so). πŸ˜‰ That helped tremendously! Thanks!

  5. supashmo says:

    Most anything by Frank Peretti, namely “This Present Darkness,” “The Oath,” and “Monster.” Other than that, I saw a nice set of C.S. Lewis books at Barnes and Noble for a decent price–about 6-7 books in one box set.

    • I am now drooling. Thanks. πŸ˜‰ Anytime “C.S. Lewis”, “box set”, and “decent price” are mentioned in the same sentence, my day is officially made. And I need to read more of Frank Peretti – he is quite the suspense author! Thank you!

  6. Sarah Me says:

    George McDonald is my recommendation for you. His writing is excellent and his plots have mystery, adventure and romance. πŸ™‚ I especially recommend: “The Fisherman’s Lady” and the “Marquise’s Secret” (they both go together, but you can read them separately and they will make sense), and “At the Back of the North Wind”. Also, “Ishmael” by Mrs. E.D.E.N. Southworth. πŸ™‚
    Oh, and Happy Birthday!

    • Thank you! I get extremely excited when someone mentions an author that I have never read, and McDonald is such a one. I look forward to checking out his books! (I forsee a veritable book orgy in my near future). πŸ™‚ Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

