Do Fish Complain for Being Wet??

I was thinking the other day, which is not a uncommon occurence in my daily routine (contrary to popular belief). I thought, “If I could choose anything in the world to be, what would I choose?”

What fulfills me to the point that I can’t not do that thing? What’s the purpose for my life, the unique design that I, and I alone, can fulfill and be fulfilled by?

Have you ever wondered that? Have you ever thought – Okay. Yeah, this life is great. Fun. Whoopie. But…is this it? Is this all?

Are not all lifelong friendships born at the moment when at last you meet another human being who has some inkling (but faint and uncertain even in the best) of that something which you were born desiring, and which, beneath the flux of other desires and in all the momentary silences between the louder passions, night and day, year by year, from childhood to old age, you are looking for, watching for, listening for? You have never had it. All the things that have ever deeply possessed your soul have been but hints of it — tantalising glimpses, promises never quite fulfilled, echoes that died away just as they caught your ear. But if it should really become manifest — if there ever came an echo that did not die away but swelled into the sound itself — you would know it. Beyond all possibility of doubt you would say “Here at last is the thing I was made for.” ~ C. S. Lewis

Why do we constantly moan that life has no purpose? I venture to say that perhaps we were born with a specific purpose in mind…maybe we’re just not fulfilling it.

Why is it, that no matter how hard I try, I can never quite convince myself that I am completely satisfied with this world? I’ve lived here all my life – it’s all I know.

You say the materialist universe is ‘ugly.’ I wonder how you discovered that! If you are really a product of a materialistic universe, how is it you don’t feel
at home there? Do fish complain of the sea for being wet? Or if they did, would that fact itself not strongly suggest that they had not always, or wd. not
always be, purely aquatic creatures? Notice how we are perpetually
surprised at Time. (`How time flies! Fancy John being grown-up and
married! I can hardly believe it!’) In heaven’s name, why? Unless, indeed, there is something about us that is not temporal.” ~ C. S. Lewis

Isn’t this so true? Are we not all born desiring something, something more than we have? We moan about the the swift passing of time – but why? We were born into a world run by time; time dictates our every move. Should we not then be used to it? Unless…

We were made for a world is timeless. “…that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.”

I don’t know about you, but I am truly looking forward to that day. Finally, enough time.

What are your thoughts? I am honestly open to – in fact, welcome – discussion. 🙂

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Quotes, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do Fish Complain for Being Wet??

  1. ewhit13@att.net says:

    My friend, I am so often impressed by the thoughts and wisdom of one so young and, if i can say without offence, so sheltered.  The power of books in your life and mind is evident and unmistakable. Any response by me to your desire for sharing thoughts will likely be weak and shallow.  However from some thoughts shared earlier this morning please consider the following quotes from a very wise but worldly man: Proverbs 2:1-6 1 My son, if you will receive my words And treasure my commandments within you, 2 Make your ear attentive to wisdom, Incline your heart to understanding; 3 For if you cry for discernment, Lift your voice for understanding; 4 If you seek her as silver And search for her as for hidden treasures; 5 Then you will discern the fear of the LORD And discover the knowledge of God. 6 For the LORD gives wisdom; From His mouth come knowledge and understanding.

    Ecclesiastes 3:10-12 10 I have seen the task which God has given the sons of men with which to occupy themselves. 11 He has made everything appropriate in its time. He has also set eternity in their heart, yet so that man will not find out the work which God has done from the beginning even to the end. 12 I know that there is nothing better for them than to rejoice and to do good in one’s lifetime;   The task is to allow ourselves to be led to the “good” he has ordained for each. Eph.2:10

    Ecclesiastes 5:10-11 10 He who loves money will not be satisfied with money, nor he who loves abundance with its income. This too is vanity. 11 When good things increase, those who consume them increase. So what is the advantage to their owners except to look on?

    Ecclesiastes 7:11-12 11 Wisdom along with an inheritance is good And an advantage to those who see the sun. 12 For wisdom is protection just as money is protection, But the advantage of knowledge is that wisdom preserves the lives of its possessors.

    The book of Ecclesiastes contrasts the wisdom of man to the wisdom of God in the book of Proverbs, yet both books are attributed to the same man.  With God all is not vanity or futility.   I don’t know if fish dislike being wet but I wonder if they find their life futile or do they look forward to being eaten in order to honor their place in the food chain.    Such thoughts!  See what you have done with all that thinking. lol and lots of thoughts. 🙂    Have a good and Godly day! Mr. Whit 

  2. iampressing2 says:

    Great post, and I’m glad I came upon your site, esp. right now since the C.S. Lewis quote gave me something to think about after posting a similar entry about the passing of time on my blog.
    http://www.ministryinwords.wordpress.com
    (If you snooze, you loose)

Leave a Reply

