My Someday Dreams

 I have always loved maps and globes. As a child, I would practically squeal with delight when I found a map of new worlds in the book I was reading – craggy mountains, secret lairs, and vast oceans enthralled my imagination and created a fascination with new places, scenery. I loved the vivid colors of the different countries and thought contentedly that if I ever flew over the world, I would still be able to identify each of them. I was extremely disappointed to find out, on my first time flying, that Indiana is not a different color than Illinois. My childhood was a traumatized one.

Though I love maps, I am horrific at following them. For me, maps don’t represent a way to get there – maps represent places I’d love to see someday. A virtual map of dream destinations.

I’d love to travel Europe someday…experience new cultures, taste new worlds, and revel in the romance of another world’s history. To lose myself in ancient libraries, to see all of the cliche sights for myself, not just on a postcard, to poke my nose into a thousand new places, ideas, and lives.

That’s what maps represent to me. A chance for adventure and discovery. I’d love to see England for myself and practice my English accent on the Queen (such irreverent American humor), and revel in high tea – though I am not a tea drinker – just to say I’ve done it. I’d love to visit Italy and France and Ireland and…just about everywhere.

Someday…

Where would your someday take you?

The World is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” ~ St. Augustine

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Someday Dreams

  1. nate65 says:

    “Where would your someday take you?”
    *ponder’s question* England, Ireland, and Scotland. The history there fascinates me. 🙂

  2. apeslugger says:

    Where would your someday take you?
    Italy, Israel, and Arizona. 🙂

  3. Joanna says:

    Someday sees me in every country in Europe, half of Africa, half of Asia, and pretty much all of South America. 🙂 I guess Australia and New Zealand/Fiji are pretty high on my list as well.

    I have a really odd question. Do you or did you work at the Winnebago Public Library?

    • Haha – my someday sees me in about every country known to man (and some that aren’t) as well! 🙂 Australia and New Zealand?Fiji sound absolutely gorgeous…someday. 🙂
      I did actually! For about a year and a half. I think our dads must have met up at a b-ball practice or something, because I heard faint glimmers of familiar names. You and your brothers came in, right? And I had to be a real pain about $20 bills? (I was horrifically mortified about that, btw. Sorry!! lol). 🙂

      • Joanna says:

        I though it was you! Yeah, I don’t remember the $20 bill, but I do remember recognizing you and not being able to figure out where I knew you from. Do you remember that?

        Well, apparently you guys actually came to our house for dinner a couple years ago and *none* of us remember it, except now it makes sense that I recognized you all of those years ago!

      • Gotcha. I do remember your looking awfully familiar as well – but in all honesty, I don’t remember coming over to your house…the sad truth is that I have a horrific memory. 😉

        Oh! Did you guys ever play at the Music Academy? Seems like I remember seeing you all around…

  4. annaconda97 says:

    England (duh!), Germany, France, Russia, Ireland, and we mustn’t forget Norway! Basically, anywhere overseas, and also New York and Washington D.C. The Usual 🙂

Leave a Reply

