What is Happiness?

I was thinking the other day – how much does my happiness rely on mere things?

As a Christian, my gut reaction is, “Of course I don’t rely on things to make me happy! I need Christ, and Christ alone.”

And that, of course, is so very true, which makes the following confession so much more convicting:

More often than I’d like to admit, things are all I need. I live in a nice house, in a nice neighborhood, with (mostly) nice people surrounding me. I possess books galore, many electronics, and the best stuffed penguin in the entire world (shut it. I am now old enough to have stuffed animals again.) Materially speaking, I honestly need nothing, though there are still things that I want.

But…

What if – one day I no longer owned any of these things? What if a tornado came and leveled my house? Tore through possessions and keepsakes, memories and cherished photographs? Left me with nothing but the clothes on my back, memories of what had been, and dreams of what could have been?

What if I lost all of the money I have been saving to finish college? What if I never realized my life-long dream (for dreams are things too, are they not?) of becoming a writer?

What then? Is Christ still more than enough to satisfy me?

Oh, I hope so. With all my heart, I want to echo these words:

“Jesus Christ is made to me,
All I need, all I need,
He alone is all my plea,
He is all I need.

Wisdom, righteousness and pow’r,
Holiness forevermore,
My redemption full and sure,
He is all I need.

Jesus is my all in all,
All I need, all I need,
While He keeps I cannot fall,
He is all I need.

He redeemed me when He died,
All I need, all I need,
I with Him was crucified,
He is all I need.

Glory, glory to the Lamb,
All I need, all I need,
By His Spirit sealed I am,
He is all I need.”

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What is Happiness?

  1. nate65 says:

    A sobering though. Thanks for posting!

  2. So true! And convicting in a good way. Isn’t this me too! More often than I’d like to admit, things are all I need. I live in a nice house, in a nice neighborhood, with (mostly) nice people surrounding me. I possess books galore, many electronics, ( for me it is dolls) Materially speaking, I honestly need nothing. I need to confess- I needed this today.

  3. Anna says:

    That impersonal like that I gave you was insufficient. Let me tell you in a more meaningful way:
    I really liked this post.
    When you truly mean what you’re blogging, your readers can tell. It shows through your words and resonates.
    Thanks for posting.

  4. All you need is love!
    And also, from Fight Club: The things you own end up owning you. It’s only after we’ve lost everything that we’re free to do anything.
    I’ve taken to minimalism recently, not just for the ease of travel but also out of happenstance: I’m currently rather poor. But I think there is something to it, the way monks and priests, all men and women of faith and devotion, how they lead such simple lives, void of the materialistic consumer instincts that drive society.
    Either way, I found I’m much more productive without a television!

    • Sorry! I am way late to the game here…I apologize. People and relationships have become much more important to me, as I try to get away from being fully satisfied by things. A loner by nature, I think it’s a form of selfishness on my part, honestly, which is not fun to admit, but true nonetheless. Kudos to you for trying to stream your life a bit! I know I could do without some things and be completely happy.

  5. iampressing2 says:

    Good question. I would never assume to be stronger than I really am. I am reminded that Peter was so confident to never deny Christ, then look what happened. If I do despair in poverty or tragedy, I will either remain there and never show that I was Christ’s to begin with, or (like Peter), Jesus will work in my heart to bring me through that fire, molded into a closer walk with Him. He promises to finish His work in His own, however quickly or slowly. At the end of the day, we are healed by His grace alone.

  6. iampressing2 says:

    Wow. Just re-read my comment. Need to clarify a sentence. “If I do despair in poverty or tragedy, I will remain IN A MINDSET of despair and never show that I was Christ’s to begin with”. What we have or don’t have materially has nothing to do with spirituality.

    • I completely agree. (I had to quick re-read through my post to remember what I had actually said). 😉 I think the inspiration for this post was realizing that I was happy, but I was happy because of a certain thing I possessed. Now, I don’t think it’s wrong to be made happy by something other than God, but to be fulfilled and consumed with something other than God…that’s something else entirely. I wander close to that far too often, I know, and it’s something I truly want to guard against. Thank you for the great thoughts!

Leave a Reply

