An Ode to Rainy Days

I love rainy, misty days. Perhaps it’s the melancholy side of me, but I love the half-sad, reflective mood of drizzly days, which is a bit of a conundrum – days like these make me happy to be sad.

I especially love these days when I have nowhere to be, nothing to do, and can just sit, curled up like a contented cat, with a good book. Today is not one of those days, but I am pretending it is.

window seatIn my dream house, there will most definitely be a window seat, where I can enjoy being sad, reflective, and happily dreary, while watching the rain drizzle down the window pane.

Always one for ambience, I also love to play slightly sad songs as rain patters overhead, creating an external rhythm and beat.

Rainy days are my days for dreaming, for reaching for the stars, though hidden by misty skies. For thinking deep, philosophical thoughts, for refreshing my soul, for washing away the hum-drum of everyday life with the clarity of the fresh-faced rain.

I just love rainy days. Let the dreams begin.

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Love, Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Ode to Rainy Days

  1. Beautiful. We have always enjoyed rainy days here. Did you ever notice how beautiful Pine trees are on a rainy day against a gray sky?

  2. Faith says:

    May I also add that this was written so that I could almost see and feel the rain?

Leave a Reply

