Four Things that Make Me Act 3

first_snow_2009There are few things in life that make me totally forget my age – Swedish Fish, an unreal amount of Code Red Mountain Dew with said Swedish Fish, staying up until wee hours of the night, and…

The first snowfall. It came last night on silent clouds, hovering overhead, then abandoning its larger parent for an independent  freefall.

My siblings and I stared silently at the magical sight before us, the ground being eclipsed by the small, white orbits, drifting against trees, encasing their slender arms with a satiny sheen.

It was lovely. And suddenly, I couldn’t take it anymore. I threw open our sliding door and leapt outside, bare-footed, short sleeved, and giddy. Throwing up cliche arms, I tried to catch the biggest snowflakes on my hands, then noticed my siblings still staring through the door.

Being mature and responsible and the eldest, I reluctantly said, “I suppose I could share. C’mon!”

They did. By the time they were done capering about the patio, it looked as though Mr. Tumnus and several of his little faun friends had thrown a party for the woodland animals.

Breathless, we finally clambered back through the sliding door, heads encrusted with snowflakes, and resumed our silent staring.

There is supposed to be more snow tonight.

My mental age tonight will probably be…

Three.

“The first fall of snow is not only an event, it is a magical  event. You go to bed in one kind of a world and wake up in another quite  different, and if this is not enchantment then where is it to be found?” ~ J.B Priestley

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Life, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Four Things that Make Me Act 3

  1. Emily says:

    Oh my god. You did not just refer to Mr. Tumnus. Amazing. That part of my childhood which I had almost completely forgotten just came screaming back at me! Thank you!

    • I certainly did. 😀 So glad it brought back memories – a sign of a truly great childhood! I was – and still am – very fond of Mr. Tumnus, so am always overjoyed to find a fellow kindred spirit who not only is addicted to books, but the characters inside them. 🙂

  2. Faith says:

    So true! And so well said! I hope we can join you soon with snow!

  3. Anna says:

    Oh you lucky dogs…we have no snow… “(

  4. Ohhh. Great sigh of sympathy. :_( Here’s hoping some comes your way very soonly!

  5. supashmo says:

    Mountain Dew Code Red and Sweedish Fish. I need to go to YOUR parties, that sounds friggin’ delicious.

  6. Thanks for sharing:) Enjoying such simple and beautiful things make life so precious.
    Lakshmi

  7. apeslugger says:

    Code red is awesome. 😀

Leave a Reply

