Sweet Sixteen in Heaven

I have a feeling that it’s so much more than I could ever imagine.

Different stages of my life have found me imagining it differently. At four, I pictured it all in gold, majestic, awe-inspiring, slightly intimidating.

At ten, I pictured it still golden, still majestic, but filled with all of my heroes, whom I longed to meet and talk with.

Now at twenty-one? I have a rather different view. Yes, I picture it as a golden city, a vision far above man’s earth-bound dreams, a majestic palace, with the King of Kings enthroned in glory, a hall of heroes – but yet…I think it will be far more personal than that.

I think it will be like coming home for the very first time.

It will feel right like nothing ever has on earth. It won’t be unnatural, won’t be stilted. It will be joyous, and worshipful, and lovely, and ever so much more than you could possibly have dreamed.

It is a place you were made for.

“The mold in which a key is made would be a strange thing, if you had never seen a key: and the key itself a strange thing if you had never seen a lock.  Your soul has a curious shape because it is a hollow made to fit a particular swelling in the infinite contours of the divine substance, or a key to unlock one of the doors in the house with many mansions.

Your place in heaven will seem to be made for you and you alone, because you were made for it — made for it stitch by stitch as a glove is made for a hand.”  ~ C.S. Lewis

To me, it’s a place I long more for, the older I get, because though I love this life and the many blessings I have, it’s nothing compared to what I have to look forward to. I will see my Savior and His nail-pierced hands, the human proof of His love, and worship him perfectly, finally. I will be filled to the brim, overflowing, with joy and peace. Beauty, God inspired and breathed, will be all about, and best of all…

The people. I have two very special people there that, after my Savior, I most definitely want to see.

A couple months ago, I wrote 21 and Sober, and in that post, you met Sara and Philip.

Ten years ago, they died in a drunk-driving related crash; they were six and five years old.

Today, Sara would be 16. Sweet sixteen.

sara 5

I never knew Sara like I would have wanted to. The gap between six and eleven can be insurmountable at times. But here is a post from my cousin Meredith, a talented writer, and best friend to Sara, which says it better than I ever could:

Today is my cousin Sara’s birthday. It’s her Sweet 16! Special day,
right?
She would be so gorgeous, with her china doll complexion and
sparkling, mischievous eyes.
She would be so sweet – but she would know how
to keep her brothers in check!
She would be her mama’s helper and her daddy’s
girl!
All the boys would be falling over themselves to be the one she’s got
her eye on – if they could get through her daddy, that is.
Her love for God
would shine through in everything she does. God truly made something special
when he created Sara.
Which I guess is why she’s celebrating with Jesus
today.
I miss her so much…last night I was thinking about what it would be
like if she was still here. She wasn’t just my cousin, she was my best friend. I
remember all the letters and pictures we sent back and forth, talking about all
our important matters of business, sending each other carefully colored hearts,
and in her case, diagrams of the solar system.
I remember us pretending to
dive off the side of a bridge into a little creek in North Carolina, and I
remember that she didn’t recognize me after I had gotten a haircut.
What
would she think of all of my teenage dramas?
How many secrets, tears,
prayers, and giggles would we have shared?
I miss her, and it’s wrong that
she’s not here, but one day I’ll have plenty of time to catch up with
her.
Happy birthday Sara! <3″

You can also read her post at her blog: The Time We Are Given

This is Sara.

Sara 2

sara 3

sara 4

Heaven – a beautiful word, isn’t it?

To me, it means very simply, “Home at last.”

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Life, Love, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sweet Sixteen in Heaven

  1. Rachel S. says:

    Your well-worded post leaves me with a lump in my throat, tears in my eyes, and a longing in my heart for that place of our final coming home. So many lives were changed forever on that terrible night in August 1993, but the lessons learned have been painful, but deep and God-given. May God bless your words as you continue to share them, Allison.

  2. darrenschalk says:

    Wow, great testimony and outlook!

  3. apeslugger says:

    Wow. I was just thinking about how it’ll be sixteen years ago that my grandfather got hit by a man high on marijuana. great post, very thoughtful. 🙂

    • Life can be tough and so cruel at times, can’t it? So sorry about your grandfather – pain often creeps up at the oddest times and bitterly reminds us of what we have lost, but death shall never have the final victory! 🙂

  4. Faith says:

    “I think it will be like coming home for the very first time.

    It will feel right like nothing ever has on earth. It won’t be unnatural, won’t be stilted. It will be joyous, and worshipful, and lovely, and ever so much more than you could possibly have dreamed.

    It is a place you were made for.”

    This is a beautiful tribute to a beautiful girl.
    She is only more beautiful now with Jesus.
    Blessings, Allison, to you and your family on this day.

    Heaven~ Our real Home. It will be glorious.

  5. lexiedache says:

    Allison – thank you for having the courage to share your personal story… it really does make heaven come alive… This post really encouraged my heart and showed me such a compassionate side of the Lord even amongst tragedy. Praying for you, that your faith continues to grow and inspire like it is today.

    • Thanks for the kind words! 🙂 Have greatly enjoyed your blog and appreciate your taking the time to stop in. I’m so glad this was encouraging, because often pain is just that – raw and bitter. Often it feels like writing about it only serves as a balm for my heart, but I am so glad that it served other purposes. Your prayers are a blessing beyond belief as well – I can’t thank you enough. 🙂

  6. ; says:

    I have a little sister who is going to be 16, and I can just imagine what its like…

  7. ; says:

    Actually, she is my twin but I was born first so.. but I can imagine it because she is gone but I know we’ll meet again!

Leave a Reply

