The Return of the Allison or Withdrawal Signs of Blogging

blogging

Rumor has it that the Allison is back, and while I would hate to encourage rumors, I might go out on a limb and express her sentiments that life with blogging in it is much fuller. And that, she said, is that. You may draw your own conclusions from such cryptic comments.

That being said, I am almost ashamed to admit how much I missed blogging at the beginning of my “hiatus”. The first day, I browsed longingly through other blogs and seriously considered posting a “Haha! Good joke, right? Wasn’t really serious about two whole weeks off….ha. Ha. Ha.” sort of post. But still retaining slight vestiges of self-respect, I refrained. Until the second day, which found me howling with laughter at a particularly brilliant bit of blogging, so I decided to comment.

Then I remembered. I’m not supposed to be here.

So I sat and mourned. For an embarressingly long time, which I am not proud of, but there you have it.

I had somewhat resigned myself to the cold hard facts by the third day, and only checked in on the blogging world a couple times, reading through posts in a detached manner. “Ah. Once, I had time to describe my day in minute detail, but no more. Now I…should be doing something else.”

By the fourth day, clear thinking had won out, and I only thought of blogging in the past tense, with such thoughts as “Blogging? I did that once.” and “How did I ever have time to blog?” prevailing heavily.

So, my fellow junkies, though withdrawal is difficult, I feel my time away from blogging was well-spent, learning such things as:

  1. ย Eating skittle riddles is a huge mistake. Green is no longer the poisonous, jade hue of watermelon; instead, it is gaily masquerading as the ever faithful strawberry. Now they are just messin’ wit ya.
See all of those innocent rosy-hued skittles? They are liars.

See all of those innocent rosy-hued skittles? They are liars.

2. Whatever happens in the morning, will set the tone of my day. Right or wrong, morning seems to be key for me, so I need to start the day out correctly.

3. Blogging is excellent, but so are other things. Perhaps a happy medium can be reached?

4. God is good. All the time.

5. I had much more time for schoolwork, which I am struggling to view as a good thing. Social paradigms insist on such view points, but I like to think for myself.

Those are the things I learned while I was away, and now for the things I have learned since I returned:

  1. My followers read and COMMENT on other blogs than mine. It’s like discovering unfaithfulness in a loved one. Just give me a minute; I’m working through it.
  2. Writing begets more writing. The more I do it, the more I love it.
  3. I will never again take the freedom of commenting on a blog for granted. Especially now that I can do it without considering changing my user name to do so.
  4. I am extremely happy to be back!

The Return of the Allison – sounds like the beginning of a trilogy to me. Everything is better in 3’s.

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these โ€œabout youโ€ things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor, Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Return of the Allison or Withdrawal Signs of Blogging

  1. Meredith says:

    We’re all happy to have you back. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Faith. says:

    My first thought? YAY! The Return of the Allison! : D

    “I will never again take the freedom of commenting on a blog for granted. Especially now that I can do it without considering changing my user name to do so.”
    Made me laugh out loud at this one. : D

    Glad to have you back!

  3. supashmo says:

    It’s good to have you back, and good to find the balance of blogging and the rest of life.

    • So true. It’s definitely going to be an ongoing process, because I can tend to fixate on certain things, but…it was a start. And that, for now, is enough. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the welcome back!

  4. apeslugger says:

    “My followers read and COMMENT on other blogs than mine. Itโ€™s like discovering unfaithfulness in a loved one.” *raises hand* I didn’t. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Haha – go to the head of the class then. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I guess it’s a sign of egocentricity that I even noticed that, but I find it easy to forget that the world does not revolve around my blog (not totally, but you get my drift). Of course, I can visit, read, and comment on as many blogs as I choose, which is not duplicity at all. I prefer diversity. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

