Humphrey the Hero

names

His name was Humphrey.

And I could not take him seriously. Humphrey was a brooding hero, dark and Byronic, with a sardonic quirk to his lips. He saved maidens, won their hearts, and broke them, all without ruffling a hair on his perfectly coiffed head.

But his name was Humphrey. I laughed every time I read the name. Humphrey.

Hummmppphrey. Internally, I pictured a Pooh bear sort of guy, chuckly and warm, a “tubby, little cubby all stuffed with fluff”.

A brooding hero? Try, a “willy, really silly old bear”.

The power of names, eh? Or the power (or stupidity) of parents…

baby names

To my (should be) shame, I am past master at sterotyping people according to their names, whether I know them or not. If I like you, my preconceived notion of your name might change…then again – maybe not.

Heather’s should be willowy and delicate, Agnes’s sensible and straight forward. Tony’s should be dark, suave, and Italian, while Brian’s should be blond and athletic. The stereotypes are endless.

I can almost feel the rising swells of anger and disbelief.

“Did she just disrespect my name? I think she did.”

I promise I did not. Unless you are named Humphrey, in which case, I am sorry, but I cannot take you seriously.

But.

I have good news for you Humphrey’s. You can change the stereotype of your name, and here’s how.

Make your character such that it overshadows whatever stereotype your name might conjure in other people’s minds. Or add an “E”. Hey, it worked for Anne.

Print out an “A” and a “N” and it looks positively dreadful. But if you’ll call me Anne with an “E”, I’ll try to resign myself to not being called Cordelia.”  ~ Anne of Green Gables

That being said, please don’t name your child Humphrey.

Unless you want me to sing him the Pooh Bear song every time I see his chubby little form.

You have been forewarned.

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Humor, Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Humphrey the Hero

  1. apeslugger says:

    “Tony’s should be dark, suave, and Italian,” you totally pegged me. 😀 and I could never, for the life of me, figure out those lyrics to Winnie the pooh. So thanks for putting my mind at ease. XD

  2. Haha! I totally forgot your name was Tony, as I was wracking my brain for names of people that I didn’t know in the dim hope that I wouldn’t honestly offend someone. That worked out nicely for you though. 😉 (And my violin’s name is Tony actually…random, fun tidbit) Honestly…I had to google the lyrics, otherwise it could have been disastrous. 😉

  3. pezcita says:

    Humphrey would be an awesome name for a basset hound or a lazy old cat.

  4. ; says:

    Marcie should be… well… I guess it doesn’t really matter for Marcie.:}

Leave a Reply

