Diet Coke, My Mom, and Adventure: A Poem for Mother’s Day

For providing a safety net
While I spread my wings
For picking me up
When they, untested, failed.
For worrying about me
When I didn’t worry enough,

Yet exuding quiet confidence
In my ability to succeed.
For giving the gift of understanding
By nodding in all the right places
Discussing anything and everything
As the fancy led us.
For laughing at my impressions,
Making me feel ten feet tall
And requesting your favorites,
Still giggling at their brilliance.
For making life a kaleidoscope
Each new day an adventure
A simple run for a diet coke
Turning into an escape, vibrant with magic.
For making me feel like an only child
And providing siblings to share the experience
A proud light in your eyes as you claim
“Yes, they’re all ours.”
For making the word “mother”
Reminiscent of love and warmth and laughter
Giving constantly of yourself
By expending both time and peace of mind.
For making our lives richer
By the person that you are
Exemplifying the wife and mother
I desire to be, in the far and misty future.
For being our mom first,
Friend and confidant second
And our biggest cheerleader third
Mom, I love you – forever and always.

~ Allison

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Musings, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Diet Coke, My Mom, and Adventure: A Poem for Mother’s Day

  1. This is beautiful, really really moving…Thanks 🙂 I’m now gonna call my Mum and tell her she rocks, thanks to your words… :0 Luv Dawny xxx

  2. Barb Kelley says:

    A beautifully written and well deserved tribute! 🙂

  3. ; says:

    I bet you really love your mom!

Leave a Reply

