6,000 Views & Writing; Or the Great Rikki-Tavi Rip-Off

Today, I broke the 6,000 mark for views.

(6,004 to be exact). That was kind of a big deal for me. Now, I know that many other blogs have many more readers and many more views and many more comments…

But this is my blog. And enough kind people stopped by to read, hopefully laugh, and comment to create 6,000+ views, which is mind-boggling to me.

Since seven years old, I have been scribbling poems and short stories, then shyly bringing them to my parents to critique.

Feigning indifference, I’d off-handedly hand over the precious, crinkled paper, scuffed by impatient erasings, and pretend not to watch them read it.

When they finished, I’d ask carelessly, “What did you think?”, already shuffling backwards, just in case.

“I loved it,” they’d answer, perhaps more kindly than honestly. “You are a good writer, sis.”

Proof of their kindness is my first attempt at poetry, written at age seven, and which I was convinced was at least second, if not first, cousin to Shakespeare.

“There once were two mice

Who were very bad.

Which made their family very sad.

One brother’s name was Ted,

The other’s name was Fred,

And I hate to tell you

The things that they did.

They had a sister named Jennifer

And they liked to hide and jump on her

When she came around the corner.”

There was more, which I have omitted, more from shame than mercy. My parents very obviously love me.

From there, I graduated to short stories, poetry (can I honestly call it that?!) interspersed sporadically throughout. I think my first short story was a grand rip-off of Little House on the Prairie and Rikki Tikki Tavi, having just read both of them. It was an interesting mix, but somehow it worked, especially since I was grandly ignoring the fact that a mongoose would never inhabit a prairie. Cobras, of course, have been known to travel the world, so I gleefully introduced one as an antagonist, instinctively feeling that Ricky (don’t you judge me – it’s totally different) would be bored without one.

Ricky. Not to be confused with Rikki.

Ricky. Not to be confused with Rikki.

As I grew as a writer, I still brought things to my parents, more confidently now, but still with a sense of insecurity. Would they like it? Should I have used that word? Was there one more descriptive? Less controversial? (i.e. witchery.) I held, and still hold, that such a word was needed  and was not supposed to be reminiscent of witches at all. I shall let you be the judge.

“Lilting, coaxing, pleading, teasing
The witchery of Music lures me
To an enchanted world of magic and wonder
A merry, elfin tune, ever changing, here
One moment, gone the next
Peeking ’round a corner, singing
Out, “Catch me if you can!”
I reach out longingly, stretching my
Hands toward the elusive promise of
Music – almost capturing, but not
Quite, nearly grasping but never
Totally. Then, like the will-o-the-wisp
She is, Music suddenly
Turns – and captures me.”

This is witchery - enchanted, irresistible. Apparently, this is not how my parents view it.

This is witchery – enchanted, irresistible. Apparently, this is not how my parents view it.

I ask you: did it not work? Even so, my parents remain my best, and most supportive, critics, though we still can’t agree on that word.

However, I find, especially recently, that my group of trusted critics has grown substantially, and if you are reading this – you are one.

Often, I have written a post and then sat and stared at it. Have I clearly expressed my stance? Too clearly? Been judgmental? Wishy-washy? Is this funny? Or just silly? Did I…

Then you chime in.

Writers by nature desire an outlet for their message, for have you ever read an amazing book and simply sat for a moment, basking in the afterglow of a well-told story? Then almost instantly, you look about for someone to share the moment with, someone who will love it as you did?

That’s what this feels like. I have enjoyed thinking aloud on this blog and even more enjoyed it when you broke into my stream of consciousness, perhaps sharing a like experience, giggling over a funny event, or just saying “I like this.”

I like when you like this, so…thank you.

I appreciate you all.

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Musings, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 6,000 Views & Writing; Or the Great Rikki-Tavi Rip-Off

  1. Congrats on the 6,000!
    Continued success to you.
    Jennifer

  2. ; says:

    Love this blog!!! Congrats!!!!

  3. Mr. Whit says:

    I too have been captured by the witchery of music. Some classical, some with a beat, some a little wild; all with a hook. You know how I enjoy your words! Congratulations on 6000+.

  4. Eeeppp….that poem about music gave me chills. x) I love reading your blog because it always makes me want to go write on mine! Congrats on your six thousand views! (You’re only eleven thousand behind me now….) 😉

  5. 93luthien says:

    I’m enjoying your blog 🙂 I love words so much! They’re so tantalisingly expressive of all that’s best on this earth. Words and language are to me like a vast, glittering web, intertwining throughout years and cultures, binding humanity together and yet reaching continually outwards; presenting a myriad of possibilities by which to express one’s thoughts. I LOVE your use of the term “witchery”! It’s perfect, beautiful, and conveys precisely the feeling of elusive mystique that your poem seems to desire. Look forward to hearing more poetry from you 😀

Leave a Reply

