I’m a Baptist, and I Believe that Gays were “Born that Way”

Born_this_wayI am a Christian. And I think gay individuals were “born that way”.

On second thought, let me qualify that statement. I have been raised a Baptist, indoctrinated that homosexuality is a horrendous sin, and further informed that being gay is a choice, and one that every gay person makes individually.

I still believe that they were born that way.

Of late, homosexuality has been a hotly discussed topic, and one that brings violent reactions from two opposite views of the rainbow spectrum: that of gay supporters and that of Christians.

Gay supporters protest, “Love is love! How can you possibly deny us the right to love?”

Christians retaliate with, “Your love is twisted. How can you possibly define this perverted form of intimacy as true, committed love?”

FB wars rage, with both sides raining vitriolic slurs on the other. Expletives explode, and tempers flare. I’ve read posts by enraged gay supporters, spewing out the vilest names for Christians that I’ve ever encountered. Contrariwise, I’ve encountered hate-filled posts by Christians which label homosexuals as “fags”, “filth”, and “scum.”

Each side is consumed by one thought: “These haters have a choice. And by disagreeing with us, they are choosing incorrectly.”

I’ve read articles written by previously closeted homosexuals. Some are guilt-ridden, some are jubilant, some contain more questions than answers, but every single one claims that “I always knew I was different. I’m a boy that likes boys, I’m a girl that likes girls. I’ve known since I was four year old, I struggled with it in high school, I finally discovered my true self in college…”

I was born this way.

With all my heart, I believe that statement. But I’d like to add one caveat:

We were all born that way.

I was born with a tendency to envy, and a weakness for selfishness. A judgmental attitude often mars my perception, and I war with jealousy constantly. My tongue is prone to quick, snappy remarks, and though undeserving, my family is sometimes the recipients of a silent moodiness.

I was born that way.

But every day, I’m given the choice: will I act on these natural, flesh-driven desires? Or will I choose to be the person that God intended?

As Christians, I think it’s easy to overlook the fact that others have different sinful tendencies than ourselves. Alcoholics look down on child molesters, hypocrites chastise immodest dressers, homosexuals deride hate-mongers, but in the eyes of God, we are all sinners.

Gay individuals were “born that way,” with a sin nature and a lust for unnatural love. But they still have a choice whether to act on their sinful desires, a responsibility before God not to stay that way.

God never created homosexuals. Sin did. Free will did. We all have a choice.

What is yours’?

About loverofwords20

Allison is an aspiring author, and a lover of words, music, and the Lord Jesus Christ. She is also abysmal at these “about you” things, being unable to think of quirky characteristics at the drop of a hat. However, she enjoys singing randomly and loudly, and laughing hysterically while being caught in the rain.
This entry was posted in Culture, gay pride, Love, Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m a Baptist, and I Believe that Gays were “Born that Way”

  1. Crayton says:

    I see what you did there. Well written.

    Being raised in a world full of broken people with splintered motivations, it is by God’s grace that any of us have a glimmer of his visage remaining in us.

    “Born that way” seems to indicate that our genetics wholly determine our sexuality. I agree that our sexuality is hardly a choice (perhaps, even, most “choosers” elect the normative), but it is in the process of growing up that we develop our sexuality and self-identity, all in the context of a broken (yet beautiful) human society.

  2. Clever hook there. Good stuff.

  3. Candy Harding says:

    I am a born-again Christian who also believes that there are a lot of gays that were truly born with same sex attraction SSA. They didn’t choose to be attracted to the same sex anymore than I was born attracted to the opposite sex. I agree that we are all born with a sin nature and need Jesus to help free us from our sins….be it adultery, lust, gluttony, gossiping, lying, stealing, slander and homosexuality. (I am sure I have missed some.).

    I am so tired of Christians that label homosexuality as one of the worst disgusting sin of them all. Christians who have these feelings are hurting homosexuals, and in a lot of cases these Christians are being a stumbling block to turning to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

